Buchanan County Public Library

Spotlight on Appalachian Writers

The Buchanan County Public Library prides itself on celebrating the works of Appalachian writers. Located in Grundy, Virginia, the hometown of Lee Smith, we strive to be a leading advocate for Appalachian authors and to provide a forum for those who are creating works about our home.

We are very pleased to announce “A Celebration of Appalachian Books” on November 4, 2021 at 6 P.M. The event will be hosted by Dr. Amy Clark, the Co-Director of the Center for Appalachian Studies at UVA Wise. She will be joined on stage by Leah Weiss, author of If the Creek Don’t Rise and All the Little Hopes, and Rita Sims Quillen, known for her poetry and her novels, Hiding Ezra and Wayland.

If you want to explore more works from Appalachian based writers, the library is happy to suggest various writers such as Sharyn McCrumb, Silas House, Carter Sickels, Crystal Wilkinson, Robert Gipe, Wesley Browne, David Joy, Michael Croley and Annette Saunooke Clapsaddle.

For a more local flavor of Appalachian Writers, we are happy to suggest the works of authors Adda Leah Davis, Franklin Horton, Linda Hoagland, Victor Edwards and Ron Coleman.

These writer’s books can be checked out in person at the Buchanan County Public Library and many of them can be found using Overdrive and Hoopla. For more information on Appalachian writers, themes, and characters search Appalachia in the library’s online Salem Press.

  • Hours

    Mon: 1pm-8pm
    Tues-Wed: 8:30am-5pm
    Thu: 8:30am-8pm
    Fri-Sat: 8:30am-5pm
    Sun: Closed

  • Get in touch


    Fax: 276-935-6292

    Email: sherry@bcplnet.org

  • Find us

    1185 Poe Town Street
    Grundy, VA 24614

This site is made possible by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services. It is managed by the The Library of Virginia Library Development and Networking Division.